WCU and ADP to Sponsor Small Business Leadership Luncheon

Hattiesburg, Miss., April 29, 2013 -

William Carey University and the Area Development Partnership will honor small businesses at the Small Business Leadership Award Luncheon (SBLA) on Wednesday, May 1, from 11: 30 a.m. – 1 p.m. at Southern Oaks House and Gardens.

Mr. Curt Hébert of Madison, a partner at Brunini Grantham Grower & Hewes Law Firm, will be the awards luncheon speaker. Mr. Hébert is a visiting scholar at the Bipartisan Policy Center and the former Chief Executive Officer of Lexicon Strategy Group, LLC. He also previously served as executive vice president of external affairs at Entergy, and served four years in Washington as a presidential appointee to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. Mr.  Hébert was nominated to a seat on FERC by President Clinton in 1997 and named chair by President Bush in January 2001. At 38 years of age, he became the youngest chairman in FERC's history. He was also a commissioner and chairman of the Mississippi Public Service Commission. He earned his undergraduate degree from The University of Southern Mississippi, his J.D. from The Mississippi College School of Law, and completed the Nuclear Reactor Technology Program at MIT.

The SBLA recognizes the important contributions of small businesses to the economic, social, and cultural life of the community as well as the particular achievements of one individual or family. SBLA nominees must meet several criteria including employing 100 or fewer employees, operating locally except for marketing, exhibiting Judeo-Christian ethics, being financially sound, and participating in community service. The nomination process began in March, and the winner will be announced at the awards luncheon.

Previous recipients of the award include Jack Simmons of Simmons Furniture Co. in 1990, the inaugural year, and most recently, Karl Ficken with Willmut Gas Company, Phil Hanberry and Christ Hudson of Hanco Corporation, the Moore family of Moore Funeral Home, Dennis Pierce of Piercon, Inc., Wayne Ross of Commercial Stationery Company, Robert St. John of New South Restaurant Group, and the Dews family of C.L. Dews & Sons Foundry & Machine Co., Inc. Other winners include Gene Owens of Owens Business Machines, the Myrick family of Economy Supply Company, Steven L. Floyd of Steve Floyd Properties, Inc., Allen Anderson of Anderson Retail, Inc., Glenn E. Galey of The Galey Agency, Inc., Doug McLelland of McLelland Television Co., David Rumbarger of Area Development Partnership, Carl Amones of Amones Realty & Tax Services, Gwen James of Coldwell Bank and Don Nace, Inc., Realtors, Jan Lacy of Copy Cats Printing, and Robert E. Donnell, Jr. of Vital-Care Compounder.

Sponsors for the 2013 SBLAL are C-Spire, Comcast Spotlight, Mississippi Power, Pearl River Valley Electric Power Association, South Mississippi Electric Power Association, Southern Pines Electric Power Association, WDAM, and Willmut Gas & Oil Co.


Pictured is Mr. Curt Hébert, a partner at Brunini Grantham Grower & Hewes Law Firm, who will serve as keynote speaker at the 2013 Small Business Leadership Award Luncheon (SBLAL) hosted by William Carey University and the Area Development Partnership on Wednesday, May 1, from 11: 30 a.m. – 1 p.m. at Southern Oaks House and Gardens.