Page 13 - Spring 2012

Head Campus
Five outstanding graduates were
recently inducted into the Alumni
Hall of Fame. The alumni were
Charles Jerome Brown of Hattiesburg
Dr. Dorman Laird of Sumrall
Sen. Chris McDaniel of
Ellisville (’94), Dorothy Roberts
McEwen of Long Beach (’78), and
Slater Murphy of Ridgeland (’79).
Charles J. Brown, who was a
charter member of Carey’s African-
American Cultural Society, came to
Carey upon returning from service
in the Vietnam War. After graduating
from Carey in 1973, he worked
as a vocational counselor for the
Mississippi Employment Security
Commission for 15 years and then
as counselor for the Disabled
Veteran Outreach Program for 12
years. In 1990, Charles was named
Mississippi Counselor of the Year,
and for his service in Vietnam, he
was named Hattiesburg’s Veteran of
the Year in 1994 and was recently
featured in the History Channel’s
documentary series Vietnam in HD.
Dr. Dorman Laird served Carey
for nearly 40 years as dean of
student affairs, director of religious
activities, professor of religion,
and faculty representative for
HEADWAE. He was also honored
as Faculty Member of the Year by
the Student Government Association
and was named professor of religion
emeritus upon retirement in 2007.
Dorman received the Doctor of
Theology from New Orleans Baptist
Theological Seminary. He serves as
deacon and Sunday school teacher
at Sumrall First Baptist Church and
has had 17 articles published in
Biblical Illustrator.
Senator Chris McDaniel has
served in the Mississippi Senate
since 2007. He has authored
numerous pieces of legislation,
including Nathan’s Law and
the Mississippi Small Business
Regulatory Flexibility Act. He is
licensed to practice law in Texas
and Mississippi. In 2010, Chris
was named one of the top-50
leading lawyers in Mississippi and
was also named as one of the top
young attorneys in the Southeastern
United States. He has also received
numerous honors and awards in
the community including 2010
Laurel Leader Call Citizen of
the Year award.
Dorothy Roberts McEwen
currently serves as facility
director for the South Mississippi
Regional Center in Long Beach.
She is a licensed certified social
worker, certified public manager,
licensed clinical intellectual and
developmental disabilities therapist,
and Mississippi Department of
Health licensed mental health and
intellectual and developmental
disabilities administrator. Dorothy
has received numerous awards
and honors during her career,
including 2001 Social Worker of
the Year for the Mississippi chapter
of the National Association of
Social Workers.
Slater Murphy serves as director
of the Church Music Department for
the Mississippi Baptist Convention.
In addition to his church ministry
appointments, he has served
as president and committee
chairman for the Mississippi
Singing Churchmen and assisted in
planning and leading mission trips
to 20 U.S. states, as well as abroad.
Slater has been involved with the
North Mississippi Emmaus Spiritual
Renewal emphasis for a number of
years and travels extensively leading
worship and conducting seminars,
choir retreats, and recitals.
left to right) Slater Murphy (’79), Charles Jerome Brown (‘73), Dorothy Roberts McEwen
Sen. Chris McDaniel (’94), Dr. Tommy King, and Dr. Dorman Laird (’61).
Five Alumni Inducted into the
Alumni Hall of Fam e
Spring 2012 |