School Department News

School of Education

Wednesday, May 13, 2015 - 8:49am
The Pine Belt chapter of Phi Delta Kappa, a professional organization for educators, recognized area Teachers of the Year during a Cinco de Mayo-themed dinner on May 5 at the William Carey University Hattiesburg campus.
Teachers from the Lamar County, Forrest County, Hattiesburg, Jefferson Davis County, Laurel, Perry County, Stone County and Richton school districts were recognized. Dr. Ben Burnett, dean of Carey's School of Education, and Dr. Susan Whitcomb, chapter president and an associate professor of education at Carey, greeted guests while Dr. Tammie Brown, chair of Carey's Department of Curriculum and Instruction, discussed the purpose of the chapter. Dr. June Hornsby, a professor of education at Carey, introduced Kaitlyn Pitts of Ellisville, a Carey senior elementary education major recently recognized as the Outstanding Teacher Candidate by the Mississippi Association of Colleges for Teacher Education.
Honorees were given a special paperweight and a certificate for one free course in the Carey School of Education.
Rose Davis, Sumrall High School
Joan Rowell, Baxterville Elementary School
Anna Morris, Oak Grove Lower Elementary School
Chad Watson, Oak Grove Upper Elementary School
Ashlee Bennette, South Forrest Attendance Center
Jennifer Landry, Rawl Springs Elementary School
Nashicka Mark, North Forrest High School
Julie Maxie, Earl Travillion Attendance Center
Stacey Tapper, North Forrest Attendance Center
April Daniels, Woodley Elementary School
Jennifer Dixon, Rowan Elementary School
LaShannon James-Williams, Lillie Burney Elementary School
Sharon Shepeard, Hawkins Elementary School
Lori Potter, N.R. Burger Middle School
Celeta Trotter, Hattiesburg High School
Patricia Thompson, Bassfield High School
Evelyn Evans, Oak Park Elementary School
Rebecca Hooper, Laurel High School
Savannah Keeler, Laurel High School (9th grade campus)
Sharon Pipkins, Beaumont Elementary School
Lisa Weldy-Burge, District Teacher of the Year
Vicki Cooper, Stone Elementary School
Sandy Danzey, Perkinston Elementary School
Angelia Ross, Stone Middle School
Emily Sumrall, Stone High School
Cynthia Monroe, Stone Education Center
Lori Clark, Richton Elementary School
Tuesday, April 28, 2015 - 3:33pm
The William Carey University School of Education will host Education Signing Day, an event to honor new teacher candidates and student teachers, at 5 p.m. on April 30 in the Student Conference Center in Wilkes Dining Hall on the Hattiesburg campus.
The dinner is for new education majors and also for junior education majors entering student teaching. The guest speaker is Anna Morris, a 2005 and 2011 Carey graduate who was recently named Mississippi Teacher of the Year by the Mississippi Teacher Center, a service of the Mississippi Department of Education.
Students interested in School of Education programs are invited to attend the event free of charge, but must first reserve a seat by calling (601) 318-6600 or emailing Cynthia Smith at
For more information on the School of Education, visit
Monday, April 27, 2015 - 8:04am
William Carey University graduates were named Administrator of the Year and Teacher of the Year by the Mississippi Teacher Center, a service of the Mississippi Department of Education, during an awards ceremony in Jackson on April 23.
Dr. Patrick Gray, a 2001 graduate and principal of Oak Grove Middle School, won the state administrator accolade while Anna Morris, a 2005 and 2011 graduate and a teacher at Oak Grove Lower Elementary School, received the state teacher honor.
Each year, school districts select a top teacher and top administrator to send to the state level for consideration for the state honors. Gray and Morris were selected as the Lamar County School District honorees and then named as finalists for the honors. Four finalists, one from each congressional district, were selected. Both Gray and Morris were also honored as the Fourth Congressional District honorees.
Gray has been an administrator at the middle school for seven years. Morris has taught at the lower elementary for 10 years.
"We are extremely proud of these graduates and the way they've put their fine education and training into practice to be beyond successful," said Dr. Ben Burnett, dean of the Carey School of Education and former superintendent of the Lamar County School District.