Alpha Chi Holds Induction at Carey

Hattiesburg, Miss., May 2, 2013 - William Carey University inducted 36 new members, all students on the Hattiesburg campus, and one honorary faculty member into the Mississippi Beta Chapter of Alpha Chi National College Honor Society on April 24. Dr. Thomas Richardson, professor and chair of the department of language and literature, was the honorary initiate. Membership into Alpha Chi is limited to no more than 10 percent of the junior, senior, and graduate class members, and WCU students must have at least a 3.70 Grade Point Average on the 4.0 scale to qualify. 

The student officers for 2012-2013 are Marian Mauseth of Indianola, president; Rachel Harris of Petal, vice-president, and Alyssa Keyes of Ringgold, Ga., secretary. The Alpha Chi sponsor is Dolores O’Mary, administrative assistant for language and literature, and the co-sponsors are Dr. Read Diket, professor of art and education and director of Center for Creative Scholars, and Dr. Randall Harris, professor of biology.

The inductees were Kasiemobi Achike, Hattiesburg; Marcia Adamo, Seminary; Ashley Nicole Allen, Slidell, La.; Elizabeth Allen, Mize; Benjamin Austin, Zachary, La.; Erica Barefoot, Laurel; Autumn Barnard, Laurel; Shelby Barrett, Lumberton; Kameron Boulton, Hickory; Anna Bryant, Moselle; Carolos Casilla Nova, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic; Rachel Chance, Silver Creek; Michael Clark, McComb; Jacquelyn Godshaw, Richton; Devin Hadley, Byhalia; Joannie Harrell, Collins; James Harris, Ocean Springs; Erin Holifield, Hattiesburg; Carol Johnson, Woodville; Emanuel Lacko, Kelkheim, Germany; Alex Lahasky, Overland Park, Kan.; Eleftherios Lazaridis, Katerini, Greece; Haley Lott, Hattiesburg; Marta Lowery, Taylorsville; Hannah Martin, Foxworth; John McBay, Hattiesburg; Kerry Morris, Hattiesburg; Kynsleigh Parnell, Laurel; Shelby Powell, Meridian; Ashten Rea, Hattiesburg; Kayla Ross, Lumberton; Lauren Satcher, Hattiesburg; Kenna Spiller, Petal; Pearl Ugwu-Dike, Hattiesburg; Elizabeth West, Petal, and Devin Williams, Foxworth.

WCU inducted 36 new members and a faculty member as an honorary initiate into its Alpha Chi National College Honor Society on April 24. Pictured are (standing, left to right) Rachel Harris, Petal, vice-president; Dr. Garry Breland, vice president for academic affairs; Dolores O’Mary, administrative assistant for language and literature and Alpha Chi advisor; Benjamin Austin, Zachary, La.; Devin Hadley, Byhalia; James Harris, Ocean Springs; Shelby Barrett, Lumberton; Dr. Thomas Richardson, professor and chair of the department of language and literature and honorary initiate to Alpha Chi; Autumn Barnard, Laurel; Eleftherios Lazaridis, Katerini, Greece; Devin Williams, Foxworth; Michael Clark, McComb; Marta Lowery, Taylorsville; Emanuel Lacko, Kelkheim, Germany; Pearl Ugwu-Dike, Hattiesburg; Erin Holifield, Hattiesburg; Kynsleigh Parnell, Laurel; Elizabeth Allen, Mize; Jacquelyn Godshaw, Richton; Dr. Randall Harris, professor of biology; Marian Mauseth, Indianola, president; (sitting, left to right) Kasiemobi Achike, Hattiesburg; Haley Lott, Hattiesburg; Carol Johnson, Woodville; Joannie Harrell, Collins; Anna Bryant, Moselle; Rachel Chance, Silver Creek; Kerry Morris, Hattiesburg, and Hannah Martin, Foxworth.