MESSAGE

Speakers Bureau

2016-2017

 

Faculty and Staff of the university are available to speak at civic clubs, association meetings, area churches, and at other events. Please review the available topics below. If you find a topic that suits your needs, please contact the individual to arrange for your event. If you need assistance, please contact Mia Overton at moverton@wmcarey.edu 601-318-6767.

Dr. Gary Blackwell

Lecturer in Biblical Studies, Assistant Director of the Baptist Student Union, Tradition Campus
gblackwell@wmcarey.edu
228-702-1835

  • Christian Spirituality
  • Christian Discipleship
  • Christian Apologetics
  • Christian Theology
  • Baptist History and Doctrine

Jerry Bracey

Administrative Dean, Tradition Campus
jbracey@wmcarey.edu
228-234-2592

  • William Carey University Growth at the Tradition Campus
  • Carey’s Commitment to Christian Values in and out of the Classroom
  • Christian Commitment

Dr. Patrick Brady

Associate Professor of Nursing, Slidell Campus
Director, RN-BSN, RN-MSN, MSN, MSN/MBA Program
pbrady@wmcarey.edu
office: 504-671-6683   cell: 985-640-7870

  • Healthy People 2020
  • Biofield Therapy in Cancer Care
  • Cultural Competence and Cultural Diversity in the Workplace and Healthcare Environment (can be a four-hour workshop, if desired)
  • Evidence-Based Foundations in Nursing Interventions
  • Transitioning into Professional Practice

Dr. Garry Breland

Vice President for Academic Affairs
gbreland@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6101

  • William Carey University
  • Christian Higher Education

Dr. Greg Bullock

Chair, Health, Physical Education, and Recreation
cbullock@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6558

  • Physical Education
  • Health
  • Life Style
  • Sound Nutrition

Dr. Olivia C. Burkett

Associate Professor of Psychology
oburkett@wmcarey.edu
601-520-0963

  • Autism Spectrum Disorder
  • Intellectual Developmental Disorder

Dr. Ben Burnett

Dean, School of Education
bburnett@wmcarey.edu
office: 601-318-6144      cell: 601-264-0277

  • Current Education Topics
  • Motivational Topics (teamwork)
  • WCU

Dr. Allison Chestnut

Professor of Language and Literature and Graduate Advisor in English
achestnut@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6135

  • Southern Literature and Parable
  • Creative Writing
  • Reading Poetry and Creative Nonfiction
  • Religion and Literature
  • Music and Literature

Dr. Noal Cochran

Director of Education, Tradition Campus
ncochran@wmcarey.edu
228-702-1841

  • Healthy Families
  • Christian Parenting
  • Mental Health in Schools
  • Motivational Leadership
  • Multi-Ethnic Adoption
  • School Administration
  • Teenage Identity Formation

Dr. Cassandra Conner

Academic Dean, Assistant Professor of Education, Tradition Campus
cconner@wmcarey.edu
228-702-1829

  • Elementary Education
  • M.Ed. – Alternate Route Program
  • Elementary Teaching Assistant Academy
  • Educational Administration
  • Academic Programs on the Tradition Campus
  • Transition from High School to the University

 

Dr. Bennie Crockett

Professor of Philosophy and Religion;
Co-Director, Center for the Study of the Life and Work of William Carey
bcrockett@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6116

  • William Carey University
  • Who was William Carey?
  • Biblical Texts and Manuscripts
  • History of the English Bible
  • The Fusion of Religion and Ethics
  • History of Philosophical Ideas in Western Texts

Chad Davis

Instructor, School of Business; Bi-vocational pastor; Church Planter
cdavis@wmcarey.edu
601-441-1926

  • Ministry in the Workplace
  • Small Business Formation
  • Finance
  • Church Planting

Hugh L. Davis, III (Dave)

Assistant Professor of Business Administration
DaDavis@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6698

  • Why Go to Work?  A Biblical View of Labor and Leisure
  • Bank Stress Testing: What Is It and Its Impact on Lenders and Borrowers 
  • Investment Portfolio Management:  Is There a New Normal
  • Investment Portfolio Management: Alternative Investments in a Low Interest Rate World
  • How Do We Grow Our Economy?  Labor, Capital, Entrepreneurs and Innovation

Dr. Read Diket

Professor of Art and Education; Director of Center for Creative Scholars
rdicket@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6205

  • Arts in Learning
  • What We Can Do for Gifted Youth in Mississippi
  • Role of the Museum in a Global Age
  • Raising Gifted Artists in Mississippi: From Identification to Talent Development

Wes Dykes

Instrumental Coordinator and Assistant Professor, Winters School of Music
wdykes@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6175

  • The Resurrection of the WCU Instrumental Program
  • Recruitment
  • Music Ministry
  • Leadership Camps & Retreats for Church Ministries and School Band Programs
  • Reaching People for Christ Where You Are
  • Devotional Speaking and Preaching

Dr. Tim Glaze

Director of Baptist Student Union; Assistant Professor of Religion
tglaze@wmcarey.edu
office: 601-318-6386   cell: 601-408-5772

  • Sermons/Preaching
  • Missions
  • On to College (Freshmen)

Dr. Steven Gustafson

Associate Professor of Clinical Sciences
sgustafson@wmcarey.edu
office: 601-318-6697   cell: 713-791-8718

  • Medicine
  • Medicine as a Christian Physician
  • Ethics and Medicine
  • Pathology Clinical Laboratory Medicine
  • Research Experience in Third World Countries
  • Missions Hospitals in Third World Countries
  • Pathology as a Specialty in Medicine

Bobby Halford

Head Baseball Coach
Assistant Professor of Physical Education
bhalford@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6110

  • William Carey Athletics
  • William Carey Baseball

Dr. Denise Hancock

Assistant Professor of Nursing
dhancock@wmcarey.edu
504-296-2087

  • Nursing Faculty Workforce
  • Engaging the Millennial Generation – Information and Tactics to Increase your Effectiveness in Communication with Young Adults
  • Women’s Health Issues
  • Maternal –Newborn Health Care

Dr. Jude Haney

Program Director/Assistant Professor Health Information Management
jhaney@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6057

  • Electronic Medical Records
  • HIPAA Compliance in Medical Settings
  • Affordable Care Acts
  • Health Information Management
  • Public Health
  • Epidemiology (Disease Outbreaks)
  • Food Safety

Dr. Kenneth Hisley

Associate Professor, Preclincial Sciences
chisley@wmcarey.edu
410-458-6892

  • Nature of Anatomical Education in the Medical School Curriculum – Where is it Now and Where Might it be Going
  • The Study of Anatomy in its Classical Form and as it Relates to Clinical Medicine

Dr. Lynne Houston

Assistant Professor of Education; Events and Special Projects Coordinator
lhouston@wmcarey.edu
office: 601-318-6231      cell: 601-297-6889

  • William Carey University
  • Educational/Organizational Leadership
  • International Students and Study Abroad

Dr. Scott Hummel

Executive Vice-President and Provost; Professor of Religion
shummel@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6497

  • William Carey University
  • Biblical Studies
  • Preaching
  • Archeology
  • Israel

Wanda Jones

Assistant Professor of Nursing
Director, Continuing Education and Funding
wjones@wmcarey.edu

  • Nursing Leadership
  • Nursing Workforce Supply and Demand
  • The Future of Nursing
  • Nursing Recruitment and Retention
  • Nursing Transition to Practice: Externships, Dedicated Education Units, and Residencies

Dr. Tommy King

President, William Carey University
pres@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6495

  • General Status Report on William Carey University
  • Private Higher Education
  • After-dinner Speaker

Steve Knight

Men’s Basketball Head Coach
sknight@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6415

  • William Carey Athletics
  • William Carey Men’s Basketball

Dr. Christina Liverett

Associate Professor of Education
cliverett@wmcarey.edu
601-498-9403

  • Endorsement in Gifted Education
  • Social and Emotional Issues of the Gifted Learner
  • Differentiation in the Classroom
  • Metacognition and Learning

Dr. Bobbie Loveless

Associate Dean and Professor of Nursing
bloveless@wmcarey.edu
228-702-1827

  • Leadership
  • Administrative Theory
  • Organizational Behavior
  • Curriculum Redesign

Dr. Michael Madaris

Assistant Professor of Business Administration
mmadaris@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6202

  • We Are His Workmanship: Thinking Biblically About Business
  • This Light, Momentary Affliction: How I Learned to Be Thankful for My Cancer
  • They Say It’s Cancer…What Do I Do Now?
  • How to Flunk Out of College With Style and Grace (Some Advice for High School Students on Succeeding in College)

Dr. Michael Malloy

Dean of School of Pharmacy, Tradition Campus
Professor of Pharmacy
mmalloy@wmcarey.edu
228-702-1859

  • William Carey University School of Pharmacy
  • Pharmacy Education
  • Cardiovascular Health

Dr. Noel Mann

Professor of Chemistry and Physical Science
nmann@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6532

  • Nuclear, Biological and Chemical Warfare
  • Scientific Historical Trivia
  • Gabriel Fahrenheit
  • Albert Einstein
  • Ernest Rutherford
  • Nikola Tesla
  • Pythagoras
  • Galileo
  • Copernicus
  • Schrodinger
  • Bilateral Treaty regarding Chemical Weapon Destruction
  • Possible Advantages of Global Warming

Dr. Maude McGill

Assistant Professor of Nursing
mmcgill@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6285

  • Faith Based Nursing / Faith Based Nursing Community
  • Transitional Care Nursing
  • Geriatric Nursing (topics of interest to the geriatric client and or caregivers)

Dr. Makayla Merritt 

Director of Clinical Rotations, College of Osteopathic Medicine
Assistant Professor of Clinical Sciences
mmerritt@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6087

  • William Carey University
  • William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Higher Education Leadership
  • Public Health
  • Sports Medicine

Dr. Don Odom

Dean, Winters School of Music
dodom@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6175

  • School of Music and Ministry
  • WCU Growth

Dr. Karla Pope

Chair, Criminal Justice Department, Tradition Campus
Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
kpope@wmcarey.edu
228-702-1834

  • Police/Community Relations
  • Situational Awareness and Safety
  • Active Shooter Response: Roles of the Citizens and Law Enforcement Officers

Dr. Tommy Rauch

Chair, Biological Sciences
trauch@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6119

  • Biology
  • Pre-professional Curriculum
  • Sarah Gillespie Bird Sanctuary

Dr. Everett A. Roark

Director, Master of Biomedical Science Program;
Assistant Professor of Genetics and Microbiology
eroark@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6027

  • College and Medical School Preparation
  • Master of Biomedical Science
  • Medical Genetics and Microbiology

Dr. Cyndi Scott

Program Director, Physical Therapy
cscott@wmcarey.edu
office: 601-318-6679 cell: 601-331-8229

  • William Carey University Doctor of Physical Therapy Program
  • Physical Therapy and its Benefits
  • Fitness and Wellness topics
  • Women’s Health Issues (urinary incontinence, prenatal/postpartum exercise, osteoporosis)
  • Stress Management Techniques

Dr. DeDe Shows

Director of Human Resources and Payroll Services
dshows@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6126

  • Human Resources in Higher Education
  • Higher Education Leadership
  • Onboarding Best Practices
  • Succession Planning and Leadership Development in Higher Education

Dr. Melissa R. Stephens

Associate Professor of Clinical Sciences, College of Osteopathic Medicine
mstephens@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6069

  • College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Emergency Preparedness
  • Family Medicine
  • Preventive Medicine
  • Rural Medicine
  • Serving Underserved Populations
  • Foster Care and Adoption
  • Domestic Violence
  • Child Abuse and Neglect

Dr. Brenda Thomas

Associate Professor, School of Education
bthomas@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6605

  • Special Education 101
  • Autism
  • Community-based Instruction
  • Differentiated Instruction

Dick Vogel

Senior Project Manager
dvogel@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6762

  • Programs and Athletics at Carey
  • How to Increase Your Sales Through “Inter Active and Cross Marketing”

Dr. Jim Weir

Associate Dean, Student Affairs; College of Osteopathic Medicine
jweir@wmcarey.edu
601-318-6235

  • Admission to WCUCOM
  • Pathology

Tracy Williams

Assistant Professor of Art
twilliams@wmcarey.edu
228-223-3292

  • Paper Dolls: Where Art Meets to Play with Culture