School Department News


Wednesday, May 29, 2013 - 4:53pm

Hattiesburg, Miss., May 29, 2013 - Students from William Carey University were formally inducted into the Mississippi Delta chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon mathematics honor society on May 1 in the Lucile Parker Gallery on WCU’s Hattiesburg campus.  Established on Carey’s campus in 1970, Kappa Mu Epsilon is a specialized honor society founded in 1931 to promote the interest of mathematics among undergraduate students. Members are selected from students of mathematics and other closely related fields who have maintained standards of scholarship, have professional merit, and have attained academic distinction.

This year’s inductees were Marcia Adamo, Seminary; Lauren Anderson, Braxton; Shelby Barrett, Lumberton; Miles Deaton, Hattiesburg; Bailee Hickman, Petal; Isaac Hitt, Columbia; Hannah Martin, Columbia; Brennan McDaniel, Oakdale, La.; Ashten Elerson Rea, Petal, and Randy Wright, Hattiesburg.

Dr. Charlotte McShea, professor of mathematics, and Carl Shepherd, assistant professor of mathematics, serve as sponsors for Kappa Mu.

Monday, June 25, 2012 - 10:20am
Wednesday, November 16, 2011 - 12:00am

William Carey University student-athletes Tiffany Roberts and Sean Carter were recently awarded the David M. Halbrook Award. Established by former Mississippi Representative David Halbrook and his brothers in honor of their parents, the Halbrook Award is awarded to student-athletes across the state who excel in academics, leadership, and community service. 

Roberts, a senior mathematics education major from Waynesboro, is a member of the WCU Lady Crusaders tennis team. She played two seasons for the tennis team at Jones County Junior College before coming to WCU, and finished with a 9-7 record in singles and a 1-1 in doubles for the Lady Crusaders last season. 
Carter, a senior business administration major from Defuniak Springs, Fla., is a right-handed pitcher for the WCU baseball team. He was named one of the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) Daktronics Scholar Athletes for the 2010-2011 academic year, and was recently inducted into the Sigma Beta Delta international honor society for Business, Management, and Administration.