Wyche McMullan Honored with Small Business Leadership Award

Hattiesburg, MS, May 13, 2014 - William Carey University and the Area Development Partnership (ADP) honored Wyche McMullan, owner McMullan Motors, with the 2014 Small Business Leadership Award during the 22nd Annual Small Business Leadership Luncheon held May 7 at Southern Oaks House and Garden. Brent Christensen, executive director of the Mississippi Development Authority, served as keynote speaker for the event.

McMullan grew up in the automobile business, working as a young boy sweeping floors, washing cars, delivering parts, and working in sales. When he graduated from college, he began working at the dealership full-time with his father, Dillard McMullan.

McMullan has served in various capacities in local civic organizations, advertising associations, the ADP, the Forrest County Industrial Park Commission, and state organizations. An active member of First Presbyterian Church, he currently serves as an elder and co-teaches a Sunday school class with his wife, Eleanor. He and Eleanor have a daughter, Kristen; three sons, Kelly, Drew, and Jeff, and five grandchildren.
Previous recipients of the award include Jack Simmons of Simmons Furniture Co. in 1990, the inaugural year, and most recently, Tom White of 206 Front and Bianchi’s Pizzeria. Other recipients include Karl Ficken with Willmut Gas Company, Phil Hanberry and Christ Hudson of Hanco Corporation, the Moore family of Moore Funeral Home, Dennis Pierce of Piercon, Inc., Wayne Ross of Commercial Stationery Company, Robert St. John of New South Restaurant Group, and the Dews family of C.L. Dews & Sons Foundry & Machine Co., Inc. Other winners include Gene Owens of Owens Business Machines, the Myrick family of Economy Supply Company, Steven L. Floyd of Steve Floyd Properties, Inc., Allen Anderson of Anderson Retail, Inc., Glenn E. Galey of The Galey Agency, Inc., Doug McLelland of McLelland Television Co., David Rumbarger of Area Development Partnership, Carl Amones of Amones Realty & Tax Services, Gwen James of Coldwell Bank and Don Nace, Inc., Realtors, Jan Lacy of Copy Cats Printing, and Robert E. Donnell, Jr. of Vital-Care Compounder.

Sponsors for the 2014 SBLAL were Bancorp South, Citizens National Bank, Community Bank, Hancock Bank, Magnolia State Bank, PriorityOne Bank, Regions, The Citizens Bank, The First A National Banking Association, Richton Bank and Trust Co., and Trustmark Banking and Financial Solutions.

The SBLA recognizes the important contributions of small businesses to the economic, social, and cultural life of the community and the particular achievements of one individual or family. SBLA nominees must meet several criteria including employing 100 or fewer employees, operating locally except for marketing, exhibiting Judeo-Christian ethics, being financially sound and participating in community service.

Pictured is (right) William Carey University President Dr. Tommy King presenting (left) Wyche McMullan, owner of McMullan Motors, with the 2014 Small Business Leadership Award during the 22nd Annual Small Business Leadership Award luncheon on May 7 at Southern Oaks House and Garden. The luncheon is hosted by WCU and the Area Development Partnership (ADP).