WCU Holds Induction for English Honor Society

Hattiesburg, Miss., November 21, 2013 - Three William Carey University students were formally inducted into the WCU Chapter of Sigma Tau Delta International English Honor Society on November 15 on WCU’s Hattiesburg campus. Established in 1924 to confer distinction for high achievement in English language, literature, and writing, Sigma Tau Delta invites members to join based on academic excellence.

The 2013 Sigma Tau Delta Fall 2013 inductees were Lauran Burham of Laurel, Megan Bourne of Columbia, and Lauren Golson of Hattiesburg.  Faculty sponsor is Marsha Newman, associate professor of English, and co-sponsor is Dolores O’Mary, administrative assistant for language and literature. Sigma Tau Delta president is Alyssa Keyes of Ringgold, Ga.

A reception followed the ceremony.

Pictured before William Carey University’s Chapter of Sigma Tau Delta International English Honor Society induction are (front row, left to right) Lauran Burnham of Laurel, inductee; Erin Price of Columbia, chapter member; Megan Bourne of Columbia, inductee; (second row, left to right) Alyssa Keyes of Ringgold, Ga., chapter president; Erin Ford of Collins, chapter member; (back row, left to right) Randi Clark of Purvis, chapter member; Natalie McMillen of Hattiesburg, chapter member; Dr. Tom Richardson, chair of English department, and Marsha Newman, faculty sponsor and associate professor of English. Not pictured: Lauren Golson of Hattiesburg, inductee. The induction ceremony was held on November 15.